Everyone’s favorite Irish folk singer Damien Rice has made us all wait a blistering, painful eight years to hear more of the music that gives us all the feels (or is that just us?). Luckily, Rice has just announced plans for a new studio album. Dubbed My Favourite Faded Fantasy, Rice’s third full-length album features eight tracks and be put out by Warner Bros Records on November 11. The album’s title track is the first single, and you can hear a sweet little preview of it below (you can also listen to the whole six-minute thing on Spotify). The reclusive Rice is not exactly known for his Katy Perry-esque world touring, but we’re hoping that this new album brings at least a few new dates to the United States. We’ll have to stay tuned to find out, but for now we’ll just keep listening to this clip.

Raised in County Kildare, Rice began his musical career playing in the 1990s rock group Juniper. After his time in the band was over, Rice took jobs farming busking before really settling down to work on a solo album. His 2002 debut, O, which also heavily featured on-again-off-again songwriter girlfriend Lisa Hannigan, reached No. 8 on the UK music charts and won the Shortlist Music Prize. Rice is an avid philanthropist, contributing music and time to Songs for Tibet, Freedom Campaign, and the Enough Project.

Damien Rice Dates & Tickets

Coming soon

Damien Rice My Favourite Faded Fantasy Tracklist

01. My Favourite Faded Fantasy
02. It Takes A Lot To Know A Man
03. The Greatest Bastard
04. I Don’t Want To Change You
05. Colour Me In
06. The Box
07. Trusty And True
08. Long Long Way

Damien Rice Video for “My Favourite Faded Fantasy”

Image source: Christel Øverland Pretini via Flickr.