Sufjan Stevens has yet to tire of virally promoting his latest Christmas collection, most recently releasing a series of faux infomercials and vignettes hawking the box-set. Pitchfork describes the byte-sized videos best: “They are very, very silly.” Check out “Silver and Gold Infomercial,” “Betwixt Two Furs,” “Monster Trucks,” “It’s Just Sheila,” “Law Office,” “Sheila Campaign,” and “Friendship Sleight Ride” all at Pitchfork’s website here.

UPDATE 11/13/2012
To celebrate the release of Sufjan Stevens’ holiday album today, here’s a look at the singer’s take on “I’ll Be Home for Christmas.” In case you’d like to preview the collection before adding it to your own, Stevens has made the 58-song set available for streaming here.

UPDATE 10/12/2012
Sufjan Stevens has released a new song off his forthcoming Christmas album, entitled “Ding-a-ling-a-ring-a-ling.” With most of the lyrics already handily included in the track’s title, you don’t need to be familiar with the Stevens original to join right in on the sing-along fun. Take a listen to the new holiday tune below:

Original Post

If you thought Fiona Apple’s latest album title was a mouthful, you haven’t mumbled through anything yet. Sufjan Stevens, he of the morose ballad seemingly made for the winter months, is once again bringing his folk sensibilities to bear on a new collection of Christmas songs, and a new cross-country tour: “The Surfjohn Stevens Christmas Sing-A-Long: Seasonal Affective Disorder Yuletide Pageant On Ice” tour. Try saying that five times fast, and you may end up looking as glum as Stevens’ Santa above. Or Fiona Apple.

Click here for Sufjan Stevens Christmas Tour Tickets, Dates

The singer’s first box-set of seasonal tunes, Songs for Christmas, was released back in 2006. Classics such as “Oh Holy Night” and “O Come O Come Emmanuel,” as well as several tracks penned by the songwriter himself, were spread over five albums. This time around, 18 of the holiday offerings are Stevens originals. However, Silver and Gold: Songs for Christmas Vols. 6-10 is far from a solo affair: members of The National and Arcade Fire have also lent their vocal support to a package that includes stickers, temporary tattoos, a paper ornament, and other goodies that hope to rival in eclecticism anything else you might receive Christmas morning. As an early present, we suggest checking out Sufjan Stevens at one of his upcoming Sing-Along shows below:

Sufjan Stevens Christmas Tour Tickets

Sufjan Stevens Christmas Tour Dates 2012

Date City State Venue
11/23/2012 Philadelphia PA Union Transfer
11/24/2012 Washington DC 9:30 Club
11/25/2012 Saxapahaw NC The Haw River Ballroom
11/26/2012 Athens GA Georgia Theatre
11/27/2012 Chattanooga TN Track 29
11/28/2012 Oxford MS The Lyric Oxford
11/30/2012 Dallas TX Granada Theater
12/1/2012 Austin TX Emo’s East
12/3/2012 Tucson AZ Rialto Theatre
12/4/2012 Los Angeles CA Fonda Theatre
12/5/2012 San Francisco CA Great American Music Hall
12/6/2012 Portland OR Aladdin Theater
12/8/2012 Seattle WA Neptune Theatre
12/9/2012 Missoula MT Wilma Theatre
12/12/2012 Minneapolis MN Mill City Nights
12/13/2012 Milwaukee WI Turner Hall
12/14/2012 Indianapolis IN Deluxe
12/15/2012 Chicago IL Metro
12/16/2012 Cleveland OH Beachland Ballroom
12/18/2012 Buffalo NY Asbury Hall
12/19/2012 Providence RI Fete
12/20/2012 Boston MA Royale
12/21/2012 New York NY Bowery Ballroom
12/22/2012 New York NY Bowery Ballroom

Sufjan Stevens Songs for Christmas: Vols 1-5 Song List

Disc One

Track Song
1 Silent Night
2 O Come O Come Emmanuel
3 We’re Goin’ To the Country!
4 Lo! How A Rose E’er Blooming
5 It’s Christmas! Let’s Be Glad!
6 Holy Holy, etc.
7 Amazing Grace

Disc Two

Track Song
1 Angels We Have Heard on High
2 Put the Lights On the Tree
3 Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing
4 I Saw Three Ships
5 Only at Christmas Time
6 Once in Royal David’s City
7 Hark! The Herald Angels Sing!
8 What Child Is This Anyway?
9 Bring A Torch, Jeanette, Isabella

Disc Three

Track Song
1 O Come O Come Emmanuel
2 Come on! Let’s Boogey to the Elf Dance!
3 We Three Kings
4 O Holy Night
5 That Was the Worst Christmas Ever!
6 Ding! Dong!
7 All the King’s Horns
8 The Friendly Beasts

Disc Four

Track Song
1 The Little Drummer Boy
2 Away In A Manger
3 Hey Guys! It’s Christmas Time!
4 The First Noel
5 Did I Make You Cry on Christmas Day? (Well, You Deserved It!)
6 The Incarnation
7 Joy To the World

Disc Five

Track Song
1 Once in Royal David’s City
2 Get Behind Me, Santa!
3 Jingle Bells
4 Christmas in July
5 Lo! How A Rose E’er Blooming
6 Jupiter Winter
7 Sister Winter
8 O Come O Come Emmanuel
9 Star of Wonder
10 Holy, Holy, Holy
11 The Winter Solstice

Sufjan Stevens Average Ticket Prices

City State Venue Name Date Avg. Price
Brooklyn NY Prospect Park 8/2/2011 $54.48
Brooklyn NY Prospect Park 8/3/2011 $45.94
Los Angeles CA Vista Theatre 11/8/2011 $42.50

Sufjan Stevens Past Setlist

Main Set

Track Song
1 Diacritical Marks
2 Run Rabbit Run
3 Aheym
4 Neptune
5 Jupiter
6 Venus
7 Uranus
8 Mars
9 The Sun
10 Pluto
11 The Moon
12 Saturn
13 Earth
14 Mercury


Track Song
1 Neptune

Sufjan Stevens: “Joy to the World”

Sufjan Stevens: “Oh Holy Night”


Sufjan Stevens: “O Come O Come Emmanuel”