New York Rangers Playoff Tickets

Millions of Customers Served

100% Guaranteed

Low Fees & Transparent Prices

Upcoming Events

Bummer! Looks like there aren't any events

Check back another time

New York Rangers Playoff Details

The Rangers were the first American NHL team to win the Stanley Cup. They won their first Stanley Cup in 1928 and won two more in 1933 and 1940.

After their 1940 Stanley Cup win, the Rangers went 54 years without another championship. This long drought is sometimes called the Curse of 1940. Legend has it that the mortgage on Madison Square Garden was paid off during the 1939-40 season, and that the Rangers’ owners and management celebrated by burning the mortgage documents in the bowl of the Stanley Cup. Was it this fire that caused the Curse? It’s impossible to say, but you can’t argue that 54 years is a long time.

The Curse probably seemed strongest in 1992, when the Rangers finished the regular season in first place but lost in the second round of the playoffs. Their frustrated fans were forced to suffer one year longer: the Rangers missed the playoffs entirely after a frustrating 1992-93 season.

The Rangers rebounded in 1993-94. Behind new head coach Mike Keenan and captain Mark Messier, the Rangers finished in first place once again. In the Eastern Conference Final, the Rangers trailed the New Jersey Devils three games to two. Before Game 6, Messier famously guaranteed a Rangers victory. Messier emphatically backed up his words: he scored a hat trick (including the game-tying and game-winning goals), and the Rangers won Game 7 in overtime. In the Stanley Cup Final, the Rangers played the Vancouver Canucks. It took another Game 7, but the Rangers finally broke the curse and won the Stanley Cup.

In 2005, the Rangers started a little-known Swedish goalie named Henrik Lundqvist in their season opener. Lundqvist went on to become one of the best goalies in the NHL. In 2015, Lundqvist came close to bringing another Stanley Cup to New York. The Rangers reached the Stanley Cup Final but were defeated in five games by the Los Angeles Kings.

NHL Playoff Format

The NHL is split into an Eastern Conference and a Western Conference. Both conferences are made up of two divisions. The Rangers play in the Metropolitan Division of the Eastern Conference. The top three teams from each division automatically qualify for the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Both conferences also send two wild card teams to the playoffs. 16 teams--eight from both conferences--make the playoffs.

There are four rounds in the Stanley Cup Playoffs. The winner of each round is decided by a best-of-seven series. The first two rounds of the playoffs pit division rivals against each other and give wild card teams a chance to pull off an upset.

Round 3 is the Conference Final. The winners of the Eastern Conference Final receive the Prince of Wales Trophy, and the winners of the Western Conference Final are awarded the Clarence S. Campbell Bowl.

The winners of the Eastern Conference and Western Conference Finals face each other in the Stanley Cup Final.

When do Rangers playoff tickets go on sale?

The NHL season goes from October to mid-April. If the Rangers are in the playoff race, be on the lookout in March for announcements about playoff tickets.

How much do Rangers playoff tickets cost?

The average resale price for a Rangers playoff ticket is $417, but fans should keep in mind that individual tickets may be available for above or below this average price point.

This image is available through Creative Commons and has been modified from the original. Email with any questions.